Encrucijadas ( Crossroads )

La semana antepasada, mientras calificaba los exámenes
finales de mis estudiantes, que son de selección múltiple, puse en el televisor
de nuevo una película que ya había visto un par de veces: Perfume de Mujer, con
Al Pacino. Si no la han visto, les recomiendo que lo hagan. Como siempre, me
emocioné mucho con el final de la película y me quedé pensando en esta parte
del discurso del Coronel Slade (Al Pacino):

I have come to the crossroads in my life.

(En mi vida me he encontrado en encrucijadas.)

I always knew what the right path was.

(Siempre supe cuál era el camino correcto)

Without exception I knew, but I never took it.

(Sin excepción, siempre lo supe, pero nunca lo tomé)

You know why?

(¿Saben por qué? )

It was  TOO  DAMN  HARD.

(Porque, demonios, era demasiado difícil )

Lieutenant Colonel Frank Slade

(Teniente Coronel Frank Slade)

Luego, esta semana, casualmente, leí lo siguiente:

“Cuando estés dudando, toma el camino más difícil.”

Como soy una persona terriblemente indecisa, lo que es una
de las cosas que menos me gusta de mí, es para mí una maravilla encontrar un
consejo que me ayude a decidir con mayor velocidad y, además, a decidir lo
correcto.
En particular, me parece que es un consejo muy bueno para aquellas ocasiones en que uno no tiene ganas de hacer lo que sabe que debe hacer.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The week before last, while grading the finals of my students, which are multiple choice, I watched again (actually heard again) a movie I had seen a couple of times before: Scent of a Woman with Al Pacino. If you have not seen it, I recommend
you do so. As always, I was moved at the end of the movie and I couldn´t help thinking a lot about this part of Colonel Slade’s speech:

I have come to the crossroads in my life.

I always knew what the right path was.

Without exception I knew, but I never took it.

You know why?

It was   TOO   DAMN   HARD !

Lieutenant Colonel Frank Slade

Then, this week, coincidentally, I read the following:
“When in doubt, take the hard way.”
Since I am a terribly indecisive person, which is one of the things I like least about me, it makes me very happy to have found an advice that helps me to decide faster and, moreover, to make the right choice.

I think this advice is especially helpful when one doesn´t feel like doing what one knows one should be doing.    (I´m not sure about my English grammar here. The idea is that a person knows what she (or he) should be doing but doesn´t feel like doing it. In this cases, I think that the aforementioned advice is especially helpful).

P.S. : I began, a couple of weeks ago, to use google translator in order to translate this blog into English faster but, I realize now I cannot trust it completely, for example I would have written “grading the exams”, and google translator wrote “branding the exams”. But I´ve never heard about “branding exams”. So, it is probably a bad translation. It is still a long way until a machine can translate as well as a person. However, it does help to translate faster.

Esta entrada fue publicada en Uncategorized. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

